Mauritius - paradise Island

Mauritius is a small, multicultural island in the Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar and southeast of the Seychelles. Here you can dream about climbing almost untouched mountains, exploring waterfalls, diving into the reefs, swimming with dolphins and, of course, relaxing at the wonderful beaches, where you can listen to the sound of the sea.


Off major shipping routes, Mauritius remained uninhabited until the 16th century, allowing it to develop into one of the world's biodiversity hotspots. It was favoured by pirates and occupied briefly by the Dutch before the French brought African slaves to work the sugar plantations. Captured by the British in 1810, Mauritius achieved independence in 1968.

Mauritius today is one of the wealthiest countries in Africa, a successful, multicultural society where the friendly co-existence of peoples and religions expresses itself in croissants for breakfast and curry for dinner, and brightly painted Indian temples sitting alongside French colonial mansions.

Facts about Mauritius

Capital Port Louis
Official language(s) English
Vernacular Mauritian Creole
Rodriguan Creole
Demonym Mauritian
Government Parliamentary republic
 -  from the United Kingdom 12 March 1968 
 -  Republic 12 March 1992 
 -  2011 estimate 1,286,340[3] (151st)
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
 -  Total $19.276 billion[4] 
 -  Per capita $14,954[4] 
Currency Mauritian rupee (MUR)
Time zone MUT (UTC+4)
 -  Summer (DST) (DST not observed)[Note 1] (UTC)
Date formats dd/mm/yyyy (AD)
Drives on the left
Calling code +230
Clicker Oy 2012